To infinity and beyond!

What a day it has been.  As I type, I look around my new apartment, excited for what these next few months will bring.  Our walls are still bare, yet to be covered with evidence of our adventures.  Our kitchen slowly fills with food and assorted accessories.  My bedroom waits to be organized, knowing that that will happen another day.

261 other College Programers reside in these halls and another few hundred locals wait to check in soon.

 

My roommates (who are all lovely gals) are all asleep, but I am too excited to let my brain settle.

How blessed I am to be right here, right now.  I can’t thank my family enough for everything they have done.  From decorating the car to driving all this way to shopping to organizing my mess of clothes…it was so hard to watch them walk out the door!

Anyway, this is getting too sappy for me.

So, check in.  COLD COLD COLD.

I got to Carnegie Plaza (my apartment) at 7:30 ish.  Coffee and muffin in hand.  All us programers waited til 9 when they finally let us start checking in! 

The process was relatively painless–minus the weather.  Basics: paperwork, paperwork and more paperwork.

Future programers: bring a folder or binder or something of the like to organize stuff.

Then I went to my room!  Got the lovely 2 person bedroom–with my dearest Julia as a roomie! 

The space is darling!  I promise I will post pictures once everything is more put together.

From there, housing meeting and last minute shopping.

And now here I am.  Exhausted, still cold, excited, home sick, happy, anxious and beyond thrilled.

I will post my work location when I am sure about it (I have a pretty solid idea, but I don’t want to give false info).

Words for the evening: Never be afraid to just go for it.

Thanks for reading and I’ll be in touch soon–with a possible vlog and pictures!

Always,

Ciara

7 thoughts on “To infinity and beyond!

  1. I remember week one on my DCP, sort of. Enjoy this time, blog often and embrace every moment. Take it from a WDW DCP alumni, it goes by too quickly! Congrats on this exciting new adventure!!

      • I remember it like it was yesterday! (It’s been 2 years now….hard to believe sometimes) It will only get crazier from here! So, sleep now while you can, you’ll be glad you did later when it gets CRAZY! How long will your program last? Through the summer? The holidays? Christmas was my favorite time during my CP, while it was hard to be away from family, it was so magical to see the parks transformed into a Winter Wonderland over night!

      • Sorry I didn’t answer sooner! Seriously crazy.
        Where did you work? DL or WDW?
        I will be here til August! So unfortunately no Christmas but Fourth of July and the summer rush! WOOT!

      • I worked at WDW from August 2010 – August 2011. I got to switch roles three times! I started off at Animal Kingdom in QSFB, then in Jan. 2011 I moved to Downtown Disney’s Disney Quest an an attractions hostess (I learned to run not one, but NINE attractions!) and then in May 2011 I finished off the best year of my life at none other than The Haunted Mansion…and that’s the one I miss the most. Check out some of my pictures here! http://theundercoverprincess.wordpress.com/disney-college-program/

        Forth of July and the summer rush are equally as exciting as the holidays! They each bring their own adventures and challenges! I can’t wait to hear how your program goes (and hopefully it’s been a blast so far)! I’ve never been to DL (it’s on my Bucket List!) so I’ll be living through your blog!

Leave a comment